Saturday, 17 August 2013


Indian badminton league

A historic moment

Indian Badminton League is a franchise league by Badminton Association of India (BAI) The inaugural edition of the Indian Badminton League will take place in India from 14 to 31 August 2013. This will have Indian as well as foreign players. The players auction for the first IBL was held in Delhi on 22 July 2013. The league will have 6 franchises. The matches will be played in two legs home and away. The BAI has also made it mandatory for top badminton players to participate in this league
The inaugural edition of the Indian Badminton League (IBL) 2013 kicked off on an impressive note in the cricket-crazy nation. The tournament proposed by Badminton Association of India (BAI) begun on 14 August and will come to an end on 31 August.
IBL may not be as popular as Indian Premier League, a sporting extravaganza of Twenty20 cricket, but the hype and frenzy it has created is encouraging. The presence of some of the biggest names in world badminton, including India's ace shuttler Saina Nehwal (world No.4), Lee Chong Wei (world No.1 from Malaysia), PV Sindhu, who won a bronze in the recent World Championships has added spice to the tournament.
Six franchises - Hyderabad Hotshots, Banga Beats, Krrish Delhi Smashers, Awadhe Warriors, Pune Pistons and Mumbai Masters, will compete for the title. The top four teams will feature in the semi-finals and the winners of the semi-finals will progress to the final to be played in Mumbai on 31 August.
A total of 90 matches will be played and the teams will play matches in two legs - home and away.

1 comment:

  1. Really very informative article. Photos are just awesome. This sharing concept is a good way to enhance the knowledge pool about badminton. Thank you very much for this post.
    football news